Small goods = Big potential

Posted: June 16, 2011 by Polo Camo in Uncategorized

OK, I’m just going to step right up here and mount one of my favourite hobby horses, get all settled into the saddle and yarn about the global bike polo community. .. but I’ll spare that rant for another time.  What I will say is this, Los Angeles Bike Polo have a unique opportunity to win a competition to promote the sport of Hardcourt Bike Polo and they need your help.  A Californian small goods manufacturer called Farmer John (like Hellers?.. well yeah I guess) is offering billboard advertising and a bundle of other “bits and pieces” to promote local (Californian) sports teams through winning a Facebook competition.  Leading the charge (Joust?) for LA bike polo is one visionary bike polo lady named Jinxy, in her own words:

“I am looking at this as a benefit for the whole polo community, not just LA. I’m not thinking just about the city i play in, but the sport i play.
when I am 50, I want to be the local high school bike polo coach. I want polo moms to kick soccer moms asses.
I want to see kids look in awe as I show em how it’s done, and go “whoaaaa no way” when I tell em about tournaments and how ‘we used to do it’

We all have to start somewhere. We all have to support each other, even just for a stupid contest, this could be it. every news broadcast, every magazine article, commercial and billboard brings us closer to the days when we can ride past a park and see a polo game going on, while the basketball players have to beg parks and rec for a place to play.”

The way I see it, Japan has been overwhelmingly kind to us, this is one very small way we can pay it back to the global polo community.  Fire up your facebook and vote here http://on.fb.me/jHq0vD

Cheers to those who have voted already, for the rest of you, get busy – it’s as easy as click click click and vote!

Leave a Reply

