Two for one special!

Posted: November 17, 2009 by Polo Camo in Uncategorized

I’ve been considering the lack of braking prowess on my polo bike.  I thought it had something to do with the unbranded/generic (rear mounted) V brake that I currently have on my bike,  figuring low quality = low stopping power.  After a change to new pads and some adjustments here and there they’ve improved…a bit.  On court, I still get that feeling like I’m moments away from running head long into the chainlink fence or worse “T-boning” YOUR bike and Taco-ing YOUR wheel, all of which would be preceded by a long skid of my back tyre in a desperate attempt to avoid such scenarios.  My memory is that 70% of braking power on a bicycle is achieved via the front brake but the thought of running a front brake only for bike polo is incomprehensible!  Sure, two brakes are better than one, but with one hand firmly gripping my polo mallet I have a dilemma…or do I?

For every problem there is a solution.  In this case two solutions…for two brakes off one brake lever!!

SOLUTION #1  (Wording from online store)

Dimension Double Barrel Left Brake Lever – Synchronized.

  • Unique lever pulls two brake cables simultaneously
  • Pulls front and rear brake with one lever
  • Forged alum lever and cast aluminum bracket
  • Three-finger design
  • $10.40USD

    Braking News (bad pun, but I had to do it!)

  • SOLUTION #2  (Wording from online store).

    Problem Solvers Cable Doubler 1:2 (one lever for two brakes)

    Problem Solvers Cable Doubler 1:2. Allows one brake lever to operate two brakes. Applications include physically challenged riders, tandems, trikes and quad cycles. Works on all cable actuated brakes.

    • Requires three standard cables (at least two road cables) and housing (type dependent on application)
    • Cables and housing sold separately
    • Low profile machined aluminum tube hard anodized with Teflon allows low friction movement of the internal slider
    • Machined end caps and internal pieces
    • Requires the use of your existing brake lever
    • $35.75USD

    I’m placing an order from a USA based online store later this week for a bunch of single speed stuff and will be including one of these two options in my shopping cart for my polo bike.  Is anyone else keen to “piggy back” on this order and try one of these options out?  I get the feeling that we’ll see more “polo bikes” on court in the next few months…perhaps this is a good part to start with?  Email me!

    Comments
    1. David says:

      These are available in Chch. Ask Aaron where.

      • Polo Camo says:

        So it seems! I suspect you’ll sell a few of the Double Barrell Leavers to Bike Polo players over the next little while. They work great and others who’ve had a quick spin on my polo bike seem to think they’re the “Bees Knees” too.

    2. neil says:

      Where oh where can i buy one of these in CHCH??

    Leave a Reply

    